Mississippi on the ban list!

It seems that a whirlwind of anti-LGBT legislation is sweeping across the nation… or at least across a few states that are trying to stop the clock. After Georgia and North Carolina, it’s the Mississippi that’s trying to minimize all the victories of LGBT movement and, as Cher would sing it, turn back time.

Sorry, Mississippi.


After Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant signed a law allowing discrimination, several American states decided to put a ban on travelling to Mississippi. Of course, the ban doesn’t extend to everyone, but rather doesn’t allow state employees to travel to this particular state using state-funded travels.

Other states are mad at you, Mississippi!


New York Governor Andrew Cuomo stated that “Discrimination is not a New York value. We believe our diversity is our greatest strength, and we will continue to reject the politics of division and exclusion. This Mississippi law is a sad, hateful injustice against the LGBT community, and I will not allow any non-essential official travel to that state until it is repealed.”

The states which also put a travelling ban are Washington, Vermont and New York.


No Responses

Add Comment